My Job, My Children and School Holidays

As a parent (sorry all none parents) do you love or hate, look forward to or dread SCHOOL HOLIDAYS?

I’m all of the above, and with the Christmas ones now a few weeks behind us and half term, Easter and half term looming in front of us, its a good topic to work through – or so I thought.

By trade, I am not an Author only. My main income and full time job is running my clothes stores. So I have two full time jobs. My new Author status came along with all sorts of extra duties I never anticipated like, for example, running a blog. Until I wrote Golden, I never had two minutes spare to ever follow or read a blog, let alone write one. Then you have Facebook and Twitter to keep up to date, new and exciting people to talk to… the list goes on. Its a whole new amazing world, but very time consuming.

And then comes my hobby, we breed dogs, and puppies are a lot of work.

So where does my family, my husband and children fit into my 16 hour days? They wiggle themselves in around the edges and on any average day I feel overwhelmed by guilt at not having enough time for them.

So to the holidays, disaster ! Now I don’t have holidays, so I am at work. But, mostly I work from home, so I am here, with the children and the dogs, working and ignoring them as best as I can to get any work done. It is wretched, I hate it. But not because my kids are in my way, but because I feel so guilty at not being able to give them all my 100% undivided attention at all times. I try, I scramble and stress myself out, every single day trying to be the best working mum I can, but is it enough?

For that reason I love Christmas. We close our shops for two weeks, I lock my Laptop away and my phone is turned oFf and I just hang out with the kids. For two whole weeks.

And I wonder, on their first day back at school, why I work so hard the other 50 weeks a year. Why do I not cut back my hours, work less, spend more time with my beautiful boys and give myself a break?

So every year, my New Years Resolution, after two weeks of being offline is that I will not get sucked back into my work-hole. That I will not let it be all consuming and on my mind 24/7.

And, like all New Years resolutions in the history of New Years resolutions it lasts about a week before I am back in the zone again, counting the days to the Christmas holiday, wishing I was a stay at home mum with not a money worry in the world.

One thought on “My Job, My Children and School Holidays

  1. […] Source: My Job, My Children and School Holidays […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

