Author Mrs Anne McCaffrey – The Dragonriders of Pern

Anne McCaffrey – The Dragons of Pern
 These are on a completely different level from anything you are likely to have read before if you are not a Sci-Fi geek.
She started writing in the 50’s , never mind best seller lists and all that, she has won numerous awards and is simply in a league of her own today’s writers can only dream to look up to.
The Dragons of Pern is a long series of books, set in different times on a planet called Pern. I am not going to give anything away, because what makes this series so unforgettable is that with each book, the history of Pern unravels and you get to piece together a society and trace it back to its origins. Its as distopian as it gets. So worth reading, you won’t be able to put them down, but that is ok because there are 44 big thick novels and 11 short stories. I have them all and have read the series twice, not a mean feat and I plan on reading them again and again!
Sadly Anne McCaffrey died a few years ago, so there will be no more, but she made a giant contribution the literary Sci-Fy world  and her son is also an Author and they wrote a few together , so there is still hope!
4 thoughts on “Author Mrs Anne McCaffrey – The Dragonriders of Pern

  1. Jay Dee says:

    Anne McCaffrey, one of my favourites. I was saddened when she passed away. I know that her son Todd has written some, and can write more, but he seems to be quiet recently.

    Like

    • I could read them over and over again, I love how her society evolves, so unique and foreign. The “only weapons that you can wield in one hand rule is excellent”. And am I the only one that craves porridge and cream every time I read them?

      Like

      • Jay Dee says:

        Maybe you are. I can’t stand porridge 🙂

        But you’re right, I like how things change over time. And whenever I read her books, I feel very comfortable, like I’m at home on Pern.

        Like

  2. […] Source: Author Mrs Anne McCaffrey – The Dragonriders of Pern […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

