Missing the Good Reads !

While I have some time waiting for my brilliant editor E to send me the 2nd edit of Golden to dust over, I thought I would share some of the list of good books and series I have read over the years. It could prove quite interesting as my choice in books is never driven by fashion or best seller lists, so I hope you enjoy reading about them and maybe you will find something new to read yourself, as we are all always on the look out for good reads!

I am not a reviewer and will not give away any story plots at all, simply put, I like these book and want to share them with you.

 
Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins

 
I was shocked to find out the other day that none of my friends had read “Gregor The Overlander”!

Yet they had all but devoured “The Hunger Games” so why ignore the Authors previous work.
I enjoy books not just for the story, it is the writers style and character that grips you, so every time I stumble upon a really good book, I automatically buy up their entire life’s work. Which yes, you are right – expensive!! But worth it, as I am rarely disappointed in the outcome.
In this case Suzanne Collins was in fact a well established Author before she sat down and invented the marvellous world of Catniss Everdeen she created the magical world close to the earths core that can only be reached by the drainpipe in Gregors laundry room.
Fantastic? 100% !
For Kids? Hell no! Well yes it is written for children, but so is Harry Potter, so people please get of your high horses and pick up this series. It is funny, witty and full of adventure. And did I mention, very funny? Gregors little sister Boots had me laughing out loud at her antics with giant cockroaches and flying talking bats and her need to constantly poop. But don’t get the wrong impression, the underworld is in serious peril and only Gregor and his little sister Boots can save it from being overrun by their enemies. And here comes Suzanne Collins taste for war and strategy to the for front, in a magical world full of adventure.
Leave a Reply

